Two text messages and three emails

Leave a comment

April 12, 2015 by helenwaldron

Text message from Writewell to Speakeasy:

What’s wrong? Why has IATEFL sent me 2 new passwords, and now says it’s denying me access?

Sent from my W-phone

Text message from Speakeasy to Writewell:

Don’t worry. It’s all been sorted. I’ll mail you.

Sent from my S-phone.

First email from Speakeasy to Writewell:

Re: IATEFL conference coverage

Jools,

Sorry, I didn’t realise they’d send the messages to you too. I’m supposed to be covering the IATEFL online conference, but the site either tells me my password and/or email address is wrong, or accepts them, says it has sent a message with further details to my email address, and then nothing happens (yes, I did check the junk mail folder!).

Feel so stupid, but you know I’m a mere man and haven’t got your technical skills.

This means I can’t watch the talks we earmarked beforehand, but I’m sure I’ll manage something and you’re to enjoy yourself.

And that’s an order.

Love,

James

XX

Second email from Speakeasy to Writewell:

Re: Re: IATEFL conference coverage

Okay, the good news:

• It’s a beautiful spring day and I switched off the computer and got some fresh air.
• I won’t be suffering from conference fatigue
• They’re going to post some of yesterday’s talks and I may be able to access  those
• It’s always good to listen to talks not directly related to your work. That’s the way to learn new things.
• “Hoppla” (as in “hoppla! That didn’t go well”) is such a wonderful word. Very spring-like.
• Worse things happen at sea.

More good news to follow tomorrow, I’m sure.

Looking forward to your next postcard.

James,

XX

Third email from Speakeasy to Writewell:

Re: Re: Re: IATEFL conference coverage

Still lots of “hopplas!” and “you are not authorized to access this page”, but can open a couple of talks about testing and teaching quality. Lots of talk about fear as well. I’m sure our readers will find something interesting in it.

Get some sleep now.

XXXZZZ

Leave a Reply

Coming Soon!

Helen Waldron

Speakeasy and Writewell promise not to send junk mail or advertising!

Teachers as Workers

